Daily Archives: May 13, 2014

You WILL Fail, and That’s Totally OK

Image

Growing up as the oldest child, I was always pushed to do better in school than my sisters. I was an A student all the way through high school. In college I’ve been an A/B student, and still that’s not so bad. My sisters, however, could get away with whatever the minimum was: You only need a D to pass – then D it is! My mom just accepted that the 3 of us were different people and that they may not excell the same way that I did. What sucks about the whole thing is that when I would get anything less than an A (B’s), my parents would freakout on me. It was acceptable.

When I went to college and received my first C, I almost had a panic attack. I felt like a straight failure. I failed one class in undergrad, and I just felt like my whole career was down the toilet. In grad school, I have been on the verge of panic every semester even though my GPA has been a steady 3.2 <- which isn’t bad by any means. However, I continuously feel like I am doing something wrong and that I will disappoint everyone because I’ll be a drop out.

Every mistake I make, maybe when I say the wrong word or pronounce something wrong, I ruminate on it for hours and I keep saying to myself “How could you be so stupid?”. Failure or mistakes are NOT ok in my book. But, the problem is that to err is human, right? We are all bound to make mistakes. It happens. It’s how you react to those mistakes that determines how far you’ll go. You have to make the mistake, reajdust your thinking, and try again.

I just wish that my parents would have accepted my mistakes, and told me that it was ok to make them every now and then. Maybe I wouldn’t beat up on myself like I do now.

Daily Prompt

Categories: Daily Prompt | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Last, But the Most Important…

The Daily Prompt for today is “Last But Not Least“:

In my imaginary awards acceptance speech, the very end would be “Last, and most importantly, I want to thank my mother”.

Image

In truth, I have no idea what I would do without this woman. She is my biggest fan and supporter on so many levels, and she is my number one role model. My mom had children at a young age (17 & 19), she (along with my father) scraped up every penny they had and they made everything work. When I was young, we may not have had everything we wanted, but we had everything we needed – and that’s what matters. She took my cousin (someone I see as my little sister) in when her parents died (my mom’s brother and sister-in-law), and treated her as if she was her child – I don’t think many people are capable of doing that. She has always been a friend to me, but my mother first and foremost.

She is my hero and my role model, and I will say that until the day I die. I have always been, and always will be, a mommy’s girl.

Categories: Daily Prompt | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Yup, it’s broken…

I am about 98% sure that I just broke my toe…

It’s slanted, purple, and pretty swollen. Not to mention, it hurts so bad to put weight on my foot.

How did this happen?…I was playing with the dog and ran into the wall, that’s how.

I knew I did something wrong when I heard the crunch.

Well, damn.

Categories: My Life | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Welcome to the Anglo Swiss World

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Views Splash!

||||Splash Ur Views!||||

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

stiletto rockstar

Pray. Smile. Be Inspired. Disney. Shoes.

Travel Tales of Life

Never Too Old To Explore

Diary of a Bald Lady

My journey into the Land of Chrome Dome

bebald

The alopecia blog for all things bald

Girls Don't Go Bald

I will not let Alopecia beat me. A girls fight to thicken her fine hair.

A Journey to B.A.L.D.

"The journey between what you once were and who you are now becoming is where the dance of life really takes place." - Barbara De Angelis

lindsayylovee

A little look into daily life ..

What Tara's Cookin'

showing my love through cooking

Living with my alopecia areata..

This blog is about how I am dealing with alopecia and my experiences with it

She Who Runs Into Walls

and trips over cracks, pets, and her own feet.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.